School of Business Professors Receive Distinguished Faculty Awards; Pyles Wins 2017 Rudd Faculty Award for Service Leadership

Distinguished Faculty Award recipients David Hansen, Yu Henry Xie, James Malm and J. Wesley Burnett. Also pictured: Jocelyn Evans, associate dean of the School of Business

Each year, School of Business professors are selected for their exemplary contributions in student learning, service leadership and intellectual advancements.  This year, the honors go to four accomplished faculty members who represent the highest standards for teaching, service to students and the School, and research published in top-rated journals. This year’s winners are:

  • Distinguished Teaching Award – James Malm, assistant professor of finance
  • Distinguished Service Award – David Hansen, associate professor of entrepreneurship, and Yu Henry Xie, associate professor of marketing and international business
  • Distinguished Research Award – J. Wesley Burnett, assistant professor of economics

Rudd Award winner Mark Pyles and Howard Rudd, dean emeritus of the School of Business

In addition, Mark Pyles, associate professor of finance and director of the School of Business Investment Program, is the recipient of the 2017 Howard F. Rudd Jr. Distinguished Faculty Award for Service Leadership.

The award was established in 2013 to recognize outstanding, high-performing business professors who lead by example and advance the mission and global vision of the School of Business.

The award is named for Rudd, dean emeritus of the business school, who taught at the College for nearly 30 years. It is the most prestigious faculty award given in the School of Business and the only one of its kind at the College of Charleston.

The selection criteria – measured over a three-year period – includes service leadership, teaching, research and business community engagement.