Monthly Archives: May 2017

Kudos 2017!

Congratulations to the following CofC Math students, alumni and faculty:


Each year, a student who recently took calculus at CofC is awarded a $100 prize in the Harrison Randolph Calculus Contest.  This year, it was Bach Nguyen who won the prize based on his answers to the test that was administered on April 14th.

The prestigious Barry Goldwater Scholarship covers the cost of tuition, fees, room and board and books up to $7,500. The College was one of just a handful of schools around the country with three or more honorees, one of whom was math major John Cobb.

Congratulations to Katelynn Honeycutt and Spencer Wilder whose research poster “Validity of Nonlinear Beam Models for Axial Flow” won an award of merit at the SSM Poster Session.

The recipients of the 2017 Outstanding Student award from the math department are Arianna Tolerton, Christopher Johnson, Elyana Crowder, Emanuel Valencia, Emma CollinsIsabel Johnston, Katelynn Huneycutt, Kaya Tollas, Na Duong, Payden Shaw, Sonia Kopel, and Spencer Wilder.

Isabel Johnston and Emanuel Valencia are the recipients of the 2017 Susan Prazak Endowed Award for Future Teachers of Mathematics.

Sonia Kopel won this year’s Ewa Wojcicka Mathematics Award.

Christopher Johnson was the recipient of the A. Scott Ward Award (yes, it really is the “A Ward Award…) for Excellence in the Mathematical Sciences.


Tyler Perini (’16) who worked with Amy Langville when he was an applied math major here at CofC is now a PhD student at Georgia Tech studying operations research.  We are proud to congratulate Tyler on his NSF Graduate Research Fellowship of $34K in stipend and $12K in cost-of-education allowance for five years.

Hau Chan (’10) will be joining the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln (UNL) as a tenure-track assistant professor in the Fall of 2018. Before joining UNL, he will hold postdoctoral positions at the USC Center for Artificial Intelligence and the Harvard Innovation Science Laboratory.


Martin Jones received the 2017 Norine Noonan Award from the School of Sciences and Mathematics for his contributions to the school and community as a teacher, scholar and activist.

Stephane Lafortune was awarded a Collaboration Grant from the Simons Foundation.  These grants funded by mathematician (and Wall Street wizard) Jim Simons aim to foster research by increasing collaborative contacts between mathematicians.