College of Charleston SCHOOL OF THE ARTS

College of Charleston School of the Arts to Receive Prestigious Verner Award

The College of Charleston School of the Arts is proud to be a recipient of the South Carolina Arts Commission’s 2015 Elizabeth O’Neill Verner Governor’s Awards for the Arts, which recognizes outstanding achievement and contributions to the arts in South Carolina.

The School’s Dean, Valerie Morris, expresses, “It is an honor that our school has been recognized for its dedicated artist-scholars, tremendous academic programming, and extensive community outreach – through its bustling schedule of cultural events and its community partnerships. As we celebrate the School’s 25th anniversary, this award is a testament to the positive growth and direction that we’ve strived to achieve.”

Read more about the School’s achievements.

“South Carolina’s quality of life, education and economy are enhanced tremendously by those who dedicate their work and lives to the arts,” said S.C. Arts Commission Chairman Henry Horowitz. “The Verner Awards recognize that service of commitment and passion. We are honored again this year to present the awards to a most worthy group of organizations and individuals. We are grateful for their contributions to our state.”

Awardees will be honored at a Statehouse ceremony on Wednesday, May 13. The complete list of recipients are:

About the S.C. Arts Commission

The South Carolina Arts Commission is the state agency charged with creating a thriving arts environment that benefits all South Carolinians, regardless of their location or circumstances. Created by the South Carolina General Assembly in 1967, the Arts Commission works to increase public participation in the arts by providing services, grants and leadership initiatives in three areas: arts education, community arts development and artist development. Headquartered in Columbia, S.C., the Arts Commission is funded by the state of South Carolina, by the federal government through the National Endowment for the Arts and other sources. For more information, visit or call (803) 734-8696.

The School of the Arts is made up of four departments, which include art history, music, studio art, and theatre and dance, as well as two stand-alone programs: arts management and historic preservation and community planning. We also offer a degree in Computing in the Arts, which is a collaborative program with the department of computer science. Our professors also participate in offering master's programs in arts management, historic preservation and community planning, an artist certificate program in music, a graduate certificate in arts management and a master of arts in teaching (choral music). We offer a broad range of courses in these fields, as well as other educational and cultural experiences, including many study abroad possibilities. Students in this school enjoy multiple opportunities to exhibit their work and talents. The Halsey Institute of Contemporary Art, administered by the School of the Arts, serves as an extension of the undergraduate curricula at the College and as a cultural resource for the region. The Institute provides a direct experience with works of art in all media within an environment that fosters creativity, individuality, innovation and education. Each semester, the School of the Arts presents an exciting array of musical events, plays, dance performances, lectures and gallery exhibits. [View a calendar of events.] And, in the summer, the school produces many events that are part of the Piccolo Spoleto Festival. In addition, many of our students are engaged as interns within the City of Charleston’s Office of Cultural Affairs and Spoleto Festival USA.