Herring, Long and Schottland Honored at the School of Business’ Third Wall of Honor Celebration

The School of Business honored its newest Wall of Honor inductees, Rebecca Herring and J.C. and Alberta Long, as well as 2014 inductees Stan and Ellen Schottland, at its third Wall of Honor celebration on Friday, April 21, 2017.

Each honoree was nominated and selected by the School of Business’ Board of Governors for their “transformational and lasting impact on the School of Business.”


Rebecca Herring, associate professor emeritus of accounting, paved the way for today’s accounting program at the College of Charleston School of Business. Referred to as the “consummate advisor,” Herring dedicated her life to teaching accounting and ensuring the professional success of her graduates.

Read more about Rebecca Herring »



J.C. Long was an attorney, builder and entrepreneur who made a name for himself by developing the Isle of Palms with a vision to offer affordable homes for returning veterans and their families. Long eventually became the largest single property owner in all of Charleston County, including what is now known as the J.C. Long Building — the first home to the College of Charleston School of Business.

Read more about J.C. Long »


Stanley A. Schottland, former chair and CEO of American Packaging Corporation (APC), was an early member of the College of Charleston School of Business’ Board of Governors. Schottland stressed the importance of experiential learning, and established the APC Internship Program, which later evolved into the Schottland Leadership Award program.

Read more about Stanley A. Schottland »



Herring, the Longs and the Schottlands join past Wall of Honor inductees, Tommy and Victoria Baker, Guy and Betty Beatty, George and Dorie Spaulding, Bill Finn, Howard and Vicki Rudd, and Anita Zucker, who served as the event’s keynote speaker.