QR Code for Program

Initiation Ceremony

College of Charleston

April 5, 2022
5:30 PM
SSMB 129


About The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society’s mission is to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others.




Philosophía Krateítõ Photôn
Let the love of learning rule humanity

Philosophía. The first word of the motto literally means “love of wisdom” or “love of knowledge and wisdom,” a Greek word compounded from phílos meaning “loving” or “friendly” and sophía meaning “wisdom.” However, for historical reasons, the Society uses the phrase “love of learning” out of respect for the founders’ English version of the motto that seems to have preceded the Greek version. Because the founders probably intended to emphasize the value of what is gained through the process of learning and not merely the process itself, the original translator (Professor J.H. Huddilston of the University of Maine) apparently used phílosophía rather than philomátheia, the more common way of rendering “love of learning” in Greek (see Plato’s Republic 499e for a nearly synonymous use of both terms).

Krateítõ. The second word of the motto is a verb in the imperative mood, meaning “Let…rule.” As a strong imperative, it is an exhortation to action, not merely a hope or wish, hence “let” is used rather than “may.” The basic meaning of the word is the exertion of power and control, derived from the noun krátos, meaning “strength” or “might.” Krátos is also a source of the terms “democracy” (rule of the people) and “aristocracy” (rule of the noble).

Phõtôn. The third word appears in classical Greek poetry and drama; for example, in Euripides with the meaning of “mortals” in contrast to the gods of the “immortals.” The 1995 Convention in St. Louis changed the official wording from “mankind” to “humanity” on the grounds that the term “mankind” had come to have sexist connotations alien to the ideals of Phi Kappa Phi.




In addition to the national awards below, our chapter sponsors individual student awards related to research activity and academic performance each year. 

Dissertation Fellowships: Each year, Phi Kappa Phi awards ten Fellowships of $10,000 each to active members who are doctoral candidates and are completing dissertations.

Fellowships: Each year, Phi Kappa Phi awards 50 Fellowships of $8,500 each, six at $20,000 each, and two at $35,000 each to members entering the first year of graduate or professional study. Each Phi Kappa Phi chapter may select one candidate from among its local applicants to compete for the Society-wide awards.

Study Abroad Grants: Study Abroad Grants are designed to help support undergraduates as they seek knowledge and experience in their academic fields by studying abroad. Seventy-five $1,000 grants are awarded each year.

Love of Learning Awards: Love of Learning Awards help fund post-baccalaureate studies and/or career development for active members. Two hundred awards, at $500 each, are awarded annually.

Literacy Grants: Literacy Grants of up to $2,500 each are available to Phi Kappa Phi chapters and individual members to fund ongoing literacy projects or to create new initiatives.

Phi Kappa Phi Scholar and Artist: The Phi Kappa Phi Scholar and Artist Awards honor individuals who demonstrate the ideals of the :Society through their activities, achievements, and scholarship.

Ray Sylvester Distinguished Service Award: The Ray Sylvester Distinguished Service Award honors an individual who has provided sustained, non-compensated volunteer service to others beyond the realm of academia.




Dr. Anton Vander Zee

Official Welcome
Dr. Deanna Caveny, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs

Chapter Background
Mary Price, Student Vice President &
Dr. Susan Morrison, Executive Board Member

Membership Benefits
Dr. Courtney Murren

Induction of Student Initiates
Dr. Chris Fragile

Professor Lancie Affonso

Business Meeting
Anton Vander Zee

Concluding Remarks
Dr. Jesslyn Collins-Frohlich



2022 List of Initiates

Lily Andrews
Public Health

Laura Atalla

Sarah M Bagwell
Political Science, Spanish,
Environmental and Sustainability Studies

Jody Bell

Shira Bezalel

Sarah Pierce Bihm
International Business

Shannon Bley
Marine Science/Biology

Michelle Diane Bowers Hollingsworth

Kimberly Brown
Business Administration

Liam K. Brunson
Physics, Astrophysics, Finance

Trinity Champion

Sarah Cobilla
Elementary Education

Mary Page Crouch

Lauren Curry
Classics, Archaeology

Adam Dorsheimer
English and Sociology

Allen Charles Duggar
English and Religious Studies

Claire G Filaski

Bailey Ford

Jeremy Gallego
International Business, German

Meghan Gillikin
Computing in the Arts, Studio Art

Jason A Graham

Mary E. Gurley
Art History

Queen Hamilton, II
Music: Composition

Maryann Jarnagin

Oliver Jones

Bethany Kao
International Studies

Katie Diane Kopald
Early Childhood Education

Caroline Lamm

Emma Langan
Public Health

Olga Long
Foreign language Education

Ashley Matunis
Biology, Neuroscience

Mateo Mérida-Sparling
Sociology & History

Kiley Pettit

Divya Proper

William Purdy
Computer Science

Catherine Quarles

Kasey Fulgham Read
Human Science

Kamryn Schemine
Mathematics and Secondary Education

Sidney Paige Shanahan
Business Administration, Dance, and Spanish

Noah Sigalas
Historic Preservation and Community Planning

Sophie Caroline Smiley
Anthropology and Sociology

Shelby K. Sweet

Frederick Karl Swiger III

Lilliana Taylor
Public Health

Savannah Tew
Art History, Arts Management

Matt Titzler
Archaeology and Classics

Christina Trimarco
English and Film Studies

Sofia Troya Zambrano
Political Science

Kaitlyn Victoria
Political Science

Thomas Walter

Caitlin Watts

Nathaniel Williams

Andrew Wright


2002 Chapter Officers

Anton Vander Zee

James Bowring
Past President

Courtney Murren
President Elect

Jesslyn Collins-Frohlich
Awards & Grants Coordinator

Barbara Duval

Chris Fragile
Public Relations Officer

Michael Phillips
Membership Secretary & Treasurer

Susan Morrison

Dani Gottlieb
Student VP

Jillian Gray
Student VP

Carlisle McCullough
Student VP

Mary Price
Student VP

Christy Shoener
Student VP

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes

Skip to toolbar