Congrats to Our Student Filmmakers! News and Images from the 17th Annual Student Film Festival

It was a packed house at Queen St. on Saturday, April 9, celebrating student filmmaking at the College of Charleston’s 17th Annual Student Film Festival. Among the films screened were shorts from both the College of Charleston and Trident Technical College–a collaboration which began in 2019 at the 14th Annual Student Film Festival. In addition to the program of nine short films, there were judge spotlights featuring Rodney Rogers of the Theater Department and Giovanna De Luca of the Italian Program, a musical interlude by James Seezen (who performed the theme to The Godfather), as well two Q&As with filmmakers Bristol Barnes (Weight) and Allyson Suyat (Breakfast is the Most Important Meal of the Day).

The winner of this year’s festival was Shaun Rogers and Dorian Del Valle for their short film You, Me, and the Devil Makes Three. In second place was Bristol Barnes for her film Weight, based on a screenplay by Peyton Brotzman, who won the Annual Screenwriting Competition in Fall 2021. In third place was Ellison Mitchum’s The Tooth Hurts. Congratulations to all who submitted! You’re all awesomely talented!

A Special shout out to May Meyers, Bristol Barnes, and Keller Hollingsworth and other members of the Student Film Club for their hard work and commitment. Thanks, too, to this year’s panel of judges: John Bruns (Professor of English and Director of Film Studies), Giovanna De Luca (Professor of Italian and Film Studies), Rodney Paul Rogers (Department of Theater), Tim Fennell (Instructor, Film & Media Arts, Trident Technical College).

Check out some images from the evening:

Members of the Student Film Club
Bristol Barnes (left) and Max Meyers (right)
From left to right, Tim Fennell, Anna Deason, Cooper McBurney, Suguri Yamaguchi, Peyton Brotzman, Bristol Barnes, Max Meyers, and Charles Nicely.

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>