ACM Recognizes Renée McCauley as a 2017 Distinguished Member and Pioneering Innovator

ACM Recognizes 2017 Distinguished Members as Pioneering Innovators that Are Advancing the Digital Age

Global Roster Selected for Outstanding Scientific, Engineering and Educational Contributions to Computing

NEW YORK, NY, NOVEMBER 8, 2017 ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, has named 43 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field. As a group, the 2017 Distinguished Members are responsible for an extraordinary array of achievements, reflecting the many distinct areas of research and practice in the computing and information technology fields.

“Computing technology is becoming an increasingly dominant force in our daily lives and is transforming society at every level,” explains ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. “In naming a new roster of Distinguished Members each year, ACM underscores that the innovations which improve our lives do not come about by accident, but rather are the result of the hard work, inspiration and creativity of leading professionals in the field. We honor the 2017 class of ACM Distinguished Members for the essential role their accomplishments play in how we live and work.”

The 2017 ACM Distinguished Members work at leading universities, corporations and research institutions around the world, including Australia, Belgium, Canada, France, Hong Kong, Italy, The Netherlands, Portugal, Qatar, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, and the United States. These innovators have made contributions in a wide range of technical areas including accessibility, computational geometry, cryptography, computer security, computer science education, data structures, healthcare technologies, human-computer interaction, nanoscale computing, robotics, and software engineering —to name a few.

The ACM Distinguished Member program recognizes up to 10 percent of ACM worldwide membership based on professional experience as well as significant achievements in the computing field.


For Educational Contributions to Computing:

Gail Chapman, Exploring Computer Science
Cay S. Horstmann, San Jose State University
Judithe Sheard Monash University
James H. Cross II, Auburn University
Renée A. McCauley, College of Charleston 

For Engineering Contributions to Computing:

Sharad Agarwal, Microsoft AI & Research
Sam H. Noh, Ulsan National Institute of Science & Technology
Ashish Kundu, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
Theo Schlossnagle, Circonus, Inc.  

For Contributions to Computing:

Kirk W. Cameron, Virginia Tech
Wessel Kraaij, Leiden University & TNO
Matt Huenerfauth, Rochester Institute of Technology

For Scientific Contributions to Computing:

David Atienza Alonso, Ecole Polytechnic Federale de Lausanne (EPFL)
Srinivas Aluru, Georgia Institute of Technology
Sihem Amer-Yahia, Centre National de Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
Winslow Burleson, New York University
Jian-Nong Cao, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Siu-Wing Cheng, The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Christopher W. Clifton,Purdue University
Myra B. Cohen, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Ian Goldberg, University of Waterloo
Jimmy Xiangji Huang, University of Toronto
Joaquim Armando Pires Jorge, INESC-ID / Técnico / Universidade de Lisboa
James B. D. Joshi, University of Pittsburgh
Vijay Kumar, University of Missouri-Kansas City
Hai “Helen” Li, Duke University
Qiaozhu Mei, University of Michigan
Mohamed F. Mokbel, Qatar Computing Research Institute / University of Minnesota
Meredith Ringel Morris, Microsoft Research
John Owens, University of California, Davis
Lynne E. Parker, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Mauro Pezzè, Università della Svizzera italiana Università degli studi di Milano Bicocca
Lucian Popa, IBM Research-Almaden
Hridesh Rajan, Iowa State University
Kui Ren, University at Buffalo, the State University of New York
Ken Salem, University of Waterloo
Jean Vanderdonckt Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium
Rebecca N. Wright, Rutgers University
Cathy H. Wu, University of Delaware
Dong Yu, Tencent
Willem C. Visser, Stellenbosch University, South Africa
Roger Zimmermann, National University of Singapore
Thomas ZimmermanMicrosoft Research

 About ACM 

ACM, the Association for Computing Machinery, is the world’s largest educational and scientific computing society, uniting computing educators, researchers and professionals to inspire dialogue, share resources and address the field’s challenges. ACM strengthens the computing profession’s collective voice through strong leadership, promotion of the highest standards, and recognition of technical excellence. ACM supports the professional growth of its members by providing opportunities for life-long learning, career development, and professional networking.

 About the ACM Recognition Program

The ACM Fellows program, initiated in 1993, celebrates the exceptional contributions of the leading members in the computing field. These individuals have helped to enlighten researchers, developers, practitioners and end users of information technology throughout the world. The ACM Distinguished Member program, initiated in 2006, recognizes those members with at least 15 years of professional experience who have made significant accomplishments or achieved a significant impact on the computing field. The ACM Senior Member program, also initiated in 2006, includes members with at least 10 years of professional experience who have demonstrated performance that sets them apart from their peers through technical leadership, technical contributions and professional contributions. The new ACM Fellows, Distinguished Members, and Senior Members join a list of eminent colleagues to whom ACM and its members look for guidance and leadership in computing and information technology.