header image

Students Impress at William V. Moore Student Research Conference

Posted by: wichmannkm | April 7, 2017 | No Comment |

The 7th annual William V. Moore Student Research Conference took place on Friday, March 31, in the College of Charleston’s Stern Student Center. The conference is an opportunity for advanced high school, undergraduate, and graduate students to present research on a variety of topics including international relations, comparative politics, American politics, and public policy. Approximately 50 students from various majors presented in 11 panels. The conference co-directors were Chris Day and Mark Long, and the research panels were moderated by college of Charleston faculty Claire Curtis, Ali Demirdas, Lynne Ford, Phil Jos, Gibbs Knotts, Max Kovalov, Guoli Liu, Matt Nowlin, Robert Westerfelhaus, and Claire Wofford.

Each year the conference closes with a luncheon, keynote speech, and awards ceremony. Keynote speaker Kayla Gilchrist, Lead Organizer of the Central Midlands Justice Ministry, helped students understand her role as community organizer and inspired them to get involved with the local community.

Awards were presented to the following students for best presentations and papers.

Best Presentation Award
1st Place – Lauren Johnson and Deon McCray
2nd Place – David Ahnen
3rd Place – Janelle Green

Best High School Paper Award
Grace Ford-Dirks

Best Undergraduate Paper Awards
1st Place – Meredith Jackson
2nd Place – Victoria Butler
3rd Place – Taryn DiPalma

The conference is held in honor of longtime College of Charleston professor, William V. Moore, and reflects Professor Moore’s passionate commitment to undergraduate education and improving political discourse and educational and economic opportunities for all South Carolinians.

In 2009, Bill’s family began the William V. Moore Endowed Scholarship Fund that provides a renewable scholarship to a student who demonstrates a commitment to improve the quality of life for all South Carolinians. Other contributions from colleagues, family, and many friends and supporters have also established the William V. Moore Memorial Fund in Political Science which supports the student research conference and other initiatives.  To make a donation to either the Memorial Fund or the Scholarship Fund, please visit our web site (http://polisci.cofc.edu/giving/index.php) or contact the Department of Political Science Office (843-953-5724).

under: Events, Scholarships and Awards
Tags: ,

Leave a response -

Your response:


Skip to toolbar