Neuropalooza has been scheduled for Friday, October 26 from 2-5 pm at the New Science Center at CofC. Dr. Christina Williams from Duke University will be the keynote speaker. Her talk will focus on nutritional and hormonal regulation of brain and behavior development. MUSC and CofC student and post-doc talks and posters will also be featured at the symposium.

Congratulations to our 2012 Graduating Neuroscience Minors

Sonam  Bhimbra

Kyle Brown

Kayla (Paige) Brubacher

Meghin Gilstrap

Sarah Grothouse

Bashir Hamidi

Will Hendricks (Departmental Honors in Biology)

Stephanie Johnson

Kelly Knecht

Alexandra Koutsos

Caroline Newman (Honors College, Departmental Top Honors, William Aiken Fellow, Bishop Robert Smith Award, Alumni Medal, John Lewis Gervais Jr. Award, Phi Kappa Phi Merit Award, Outstanding Student in Psychology Award)

Kaushal Patel (Departmental Honors in Biology)

Kimberly Pomerantz

Guilherme Porto (Honors College, Departmental Honors in Biology)

Matthew Sherrier (Outstanding Student in Psychology)

Zachary Taylor

Nakul Thakore (Departmental Honors in Biology)

Meghin Gilstrap and Kyle Brown Win Awards

Neuroscience Minors made out well at MUSC’s Student Research Day. Meghin Gilstrap received first place for her poster in the Undergraduate Division. Kyle Brown took first place for his oral presentation at the same event. They will also be presenting their work at the Faculty for Undergraduate Neuroscience Poster Session at the Society for Neuroscience meeting this coming weekend. Congratulations Meghin and Kyle!

Our 2011 Graduating Minors

Congratulations to our newest class of Neuroscience Minors.

John Bunting (Biology)

Margaret Diamond (Psychology)

Madison Hohman (Math/Chemistry)

Christine Holly (Psychology)

Corey Hopkins (Psychology)

Elise Maggioncalda (Biology)

Elisabeth Obert (Biology)

Katelyn Ogburn (Biology)

Lauren Ramsey (Biology)

Joseph Secor-Taddia (Biology)

Andrea Smith (Biology)

Cody Weidenthaler (Biology/Psychology)

Jack Wilson (Biology/Psychology)


Our graduating Neuroscience Minors traveled to Wake Forest University to attend the Symposium for Young Neuroscientists and Professors of the SouthEast.  Our students presented 11 posters and gave 2 talks at the conference.  Lauren Ramsey and Maggie Diamond both received $200 competitive travel awards to present their Bachelor’s Essay research in the student platform session.  Congratulations, Lauren and Maggie.  Next year the Neuroscience Program will be taking our students to Francis Marion University for SYNAPSE 2012.


Fall Specialized Electives

The Departments of Physics & Biology offer each fall semester the interdisciplinary class PHYS296/BIOL396 in Biophysical Modeling of Excitable Cells. This class counts as a Specialized Elective for the Neuroscience Minor, or could be used towards Physics BS/BA, or Biology BS/BA, or for the newly implemented Biomedical Physics Minor.  Please consider registering for this exciting interdisciplinary offering. If you have questions, please contact Dr. Sorinel Oprisan.