Author Archives: kasmana

Congratulations to Math Department Student Award Recipients

The Susan Prazak Award for Future Teachers is given annually in honor of Sue Prazak, who taught at CofC from 1972 to 1999.  This year’s recipient is Joe Casagranda.

The Ewa Wojcicka Award is our departments top award, given in memory of Professor Wojcicka to a recipient showing exceptional ability, creativity and potential in mathematics.  This year’s recipient of the Wojcicka award is John Cobb.

The Scott Ward Award, given each year to a math major displaying outstanding ability in math and a commitment to connect mathematics to another discipline, goes this year to Blaine Billings.

Outstanding Student Awards went to John  Cobb, Jay Van Raalte, Posy Olivetti, Blaine Billings, Caroline Copeland, Bridget Ierace, Shoshana Berkowitz, Michael Lanier, Elaine Todd, Payden Shaw, Choral Linhart, Allyson Lesher, and Erin Langenstein.

Algebra Seminar for April 5th

At this Friday’s algebra seminar, Andy Walker will conclude his lecture demonstrating some interesting examples of localization of categories.  Anyone interested is welcome to join us at 2PM in 353 RSS.


Algebra Seminar March 1st: Localization of Categories

All interested parties are invited to the weekly Algebra Seminar, held each Friday at 2PM in 353 RSS.  This week’s seminar features Professor Ben Cox lecturing on the Localization of Categories.  For more information, contact Oleg Smirnov (


Math Club Events on Jan 30, 2019

The Math Club will meet on Wednesday, January 30, 2019, at 3:00 pm, in RSS 101 to host two of our own faculty.
Professor Martin Jones will talk about the 4+1 program. This is a way to earn your BS and MS in mathematics in only 5 years.
Professor Emeritus Mick Norton will share stories from his book Random Tales. Hear about his mathematical adventures as a legal consultant, and a wrestling coach!
Snacks will be served.