header image

Dr. Viñas-de-Puig’s Book Chapter Published

Posted by: Mark Del Mastro | July 20, 2017 | No Comment |

Professor Ricard Viñas-de-Puig’s book chapter “Psych predicates, light verbs, and Phase Theory: On the implications of Case assignment to the Experiencer in non-leísta experience predicates” has been published in Contemporary advances in theoretical and applied Spanish linguistic variation, edited by Juan J. Colomina-Almiñana and published by Ohio State University Press.

under: HISP faculty news, Hispanic Studies, Research
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Dr. Del Mastro Presents at the 99th Annual AATSP Conference

Posted by: Mark Del Mastro | July 10, 2017 | No Comment |

Professor Mark P. Del Mastro participated and presented in various capacities during the 99th Annual Conference of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish & Portuguese (AATSP):

  1. Co-panelist in the session “Hispania: Publishing your works in academic journals”
  2. Member of the AATSP Board of Directors/Collaborator in Board Meetings
  3. Organizer and Chair of the Sigma Delta Pi Best Practices and Informative Session
  4. Presenter of the 7th Annual Mario Vargas Llosa Award, joint recognition of Sigma Delta Pi and the AATSP
  5. Member of the AATSP Executive Director Search
  6. AATSP Finance Committee Chair
  7. Launch of Sigma Delta Pi’s new honor society for 2-year colleges.
under: Faculty News, HISP faculty news, Hispanic Studies

Dr. Owens’ Annotated Bibliography Accepted for Publication

Posted by: Mark Del Mastro | July 10, 2017 | No Comment |

Professor Sara Owens’ annotated bibliography “Women Writers of the Iberian Empire” has been accepted for publication in Oxford Bibliographies in Renaissance and Reformation.

under: HISP faculty news, Hispanic Studies, Research
Tags: , , , ,

Dr. Carl Wise Appointed Interim Associate Director of CLAW

Posted by: Mark Del Mastro | June 29, 2017 | No Comment |

Professor Carl Wise of the Department of Hispanic Studies has been appointed Interim Associate Director of Carolina Lowcountry and Atlantic World Studies for the 2017-18 academic year.

under: HISP faculty news, Hispanic Studies
Tags: ,

Professor Susan Divine’s article “Affect, Aliens, and Crisis in Nacho Vigalondo’s Extraterrestre” has will be published  in the International Journal of Iberian Studies.

under: HISP faculty news, Hispanic Studies, Research
Tags: , , , , , , ,

1st German-American Business Summit Photos

Posted by: smithcn1 | June 15, 2017 | No Comment |

Photos taken on February 2, 2017 at the 1st German-American Business Summit!

Click on the photos to see them larger.

under: General Information

LCWA is excited to announce the confirmation of the 2nd German-American Business Summit on February 8, 2018!

The College of Charleston German-American Business Summit targets German companies in South Carolina and the Southeastern US that are seeking to establish stronger ties to undergraduate education in the region and focuses on workforce needs for German industry in the state.

Details on the event can be found here.

The 1st German-American Business Summit was a booming success! It was held on February 2, 2017 and was attended by 186 students and 100 guests from industries and the community! Detail on that even can be found here. Photos from the event can be found here.

under: Charleston, SC, college of charleston, Events, Featured, News, Opportunities

Dr. Sobiesuo Receives Fulbright Award to Germany IEA

Posted by: Mark Del Mastro | May 31, 2017 | No Comment |

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board has selected Professor Andrew Sobiesuo, Associate Provost for International Education and Professor of Spanish, to receive a prestigious Fulbright Award to Germany IEA (Internal Energy Agency).

under: Faculty News, HISP faculty news, Hispanic Studies
Tags: ,

2017 LCWA Awards Ceremony

Posted by: smithcn1 | May 12, 2017 | No Comment |

On May 11, 2017 the School of Languages, Cultures and World Affairs hosted their annual Awards Ceremony honoring distinguished students. Congratulations to the following students

Graeser Memorial Award – Tori Lisa Akerley

Harold A. Mouzon Award – Sarah Legendre

Robert H. Duryea, Jr. Memorial Scholarship Award – Catherine R. Raines

Josef Modzelewski Memorial Award – Victoria Mary Lane Ruedy

German Friendly Society Travel Scholarship – Hillary McLaurin

Conseula Francis Outstanding Student Award – Aisha Gallion

James F. Snyder European Studies Award – Kathryn Hemphill, Shelly Phillips

Ludwig Lewisohn Prize – Sierra Debrow

Norton Seltzer Awards in Jewish Studies (2)

  1. Tikkun Olam Award – Gabriella Sitrin
  1. Jewish Citizenship AwardGabrielle S. Kaye

African American Studies, Dr. Simon Lewis

Community Activism Award – Chantelle M. Lebeau

Rising Scholar Award – Lanasa A. Clarkson

Outstanding Senior Award – Ashley Padilla

Capstone Project Award – Aisha Gallion

Archaeology, Dr. Jim Newhard

Golden Marshalltown Award – Sarah Legendre

Classics, Dr. Jim Newhard

Outstanding Student, BA – Sarah F. Cohen

Outstanding Student, AB – Hannah C. Edwards

Departmental Honors – Erik Cardwell

Hannah C. Edwards

French, Francophone, and Italian, Dr. Lisa Signori

Departmental Honors – Salvador Lopez Rivera

French Club Award – Tatyana Ponds, Lea Wright

Italian Outstanding Student Award – Jordan Buckner, Mary Rose White

German and Russian, Dr. Morgan Koerner

Russian Studies Award – Natalia Hardee

Post-Secondary Russian Scholar Laureate – Nathaniel Dabbs

American Council of Teachers of Russian

Hispanic Studies, Dr. Mark Del Mastro

Most Accomplished Major – Tori Akerley

Outstanding Spanish Major – Zach Sturman

Departmental Honors – Torrie Buchanan

Gabriela Mistral Award – Maya Novák-Cogdell

National recognition for outstanding member of Sigma Delta Pi, National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society

Distinguished Spanish Majors:

Tori Akerley                                                                         Bailey Kirkland

Carmen BensVega                                                              Zachary Sturman

Torrie Buchanan                                                                Kelsey Vories

Jasmin Graham                                                                   Mary Watkins

Portuguese Award – James Riggs

International Studies, Dr. Doug Friedman

Departmental Honors:                                          Outstanding Student Award

Kathleen Crotty                                                       Elizabeth Beyer

Emma Denley                                                          Grace Compton

Bailey Kirkland                                                        Sarah Dudley

Margaret Panetta                                                   Sara Ford

Krista Pequegnat                                                    Gabrielle Kaye

Alexandra Rodriguez                                             Alexis Logan-Brown

Katherine Williams

 Jewish Studies, Dr. Marty Perlmutter

Outstanding Student Award    Jazmine L. Morgan

 Latin American and Caribbean Studies, Dr. Lola Colomina-Garrigos

Outstanding Student Award – Tori Akerley


under: General Information

Steven Kramer, double major in International Business and Spanish with a minor in German (CofC ’14), will begin the MA program in linguistics at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in fall 2017.

under: graduate school, Hispanic Studies, Student, Student News, Students
Tags: , , , , ,

« Newer Posts - Older Posts »


Skip to toolbar