Hispanic Studies: Literary Journal Name Contest

The Hispanic Studies Department is proud to announce plans for its new online, refereed journal, to be launched Fall 2011. Because student involvement is essential for the success of such endeavors, all interested students are invited to submit original journal names that reflect the spirit of both our institution and the journal.

The Hispanic Studies journal will not only serve the student body, but it will also intend to reach and establish a dialogue with other first‐class institutions throughout the US and the Spanish‐speaking world. Our new journal will publish creative writing in Spanish: literary essays, chronicles, short stories, poetry and translations of any of these literary manifestations. In addition, the journal willpublish articles in LatinAmerica Literary and Cultural Studies of the 20th Century and to the present.

The required language for the creative work will be Spanish; for critical articles, Spanish and English will be accepted, 25‐30 pages in length and following MLA style.

We encourage all CofC students to submit names in Spanish that capture this spirit. The Department of Hispanic Studies will form a committee to determine the winner, who will receive a $75 Yo Burrito gift card.

All entries must be sent via e‐mail to journal’s founding director, Dr. Raúl Carrillo: carrilloarciniegar@cofc.edu

Please include “journal name” on the “Subject” line, and in the body of the e‐mail the following information:1) Student’s full name and class (freshman, sophomore, graduate student, etc.); 2) Preferred e‐mail address for future notifications. Due date: April 15th, 2011. The winner will be announced on Friday, April 22, and the gift card will be presented at the Award Ceremony hosted by The Department of Hispanic Studies.

Spanish Major Dylan Kornegay Receives National Gabriela Mistral Award

On April 4, 2011, Dylan Kornegay was presented the Gabriela Mistral Award for her noteworthy initiative with the activities of her chapter of Sigma Delta Pi, the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society. This national recognition requires the approval of Sigma Delta Pi’s national Executive Committee and is granted to only 6-10 students annually from the 574 chapters nationwide. Dylan is only the second CofC student to receive this honor. The first was Jeannie M. McAdams on September 26, 1997. A complete list of past recepients nationwide is found at http://www.sigmadeltapi.org/gabrielamistral.html.

CofC’s Chapter of Sigma Delta Pi Initiates 17 New Members

On Monday, April 4, 2011, CofC’s Chapter of the National Collegiate Hispanic Honor Society, Sigma Delta Pi, inducted the following new student members: Patrick R. Broome, Emily Cox, Michael Dion, Sandi Edwards, Jennifer Franklyn, Michele Greco, Stephanie Harris, Ross Holbrook, Reema Kashif, Jessica Latham, Kristen McCutcheon, Kristen Rayner, Breanna Ross, Nina Saini, Hannah Stevenson and Emily Williams. Mr. Ronald Scheman, LCWA Advisory Board Member, was also initiated as an honorary member for his support of Spanish at the College. For event pictures, visit Nu Zeta Chapter’s Blog: http://sigmadeltapicofc.blogspot.com/