3 Honors College Students Named Goldwater Scholars

Abanob Hanna. Emily Dobrowski, & Brison Avery (l to r), CofC’s 2022 Goldwater Scholars

Three College of Charleston students have been named Goldwater Scholars for the 2022-23 academic year. The scholarship is a federally endowed award that encourages students to pursue careers in the fields of mathematics, natural sciences, and engineering.

Emily Grace Dombrowski (French & Francophone Studies and Marine Biology Double Major)Abanob Hanna (Biochemistry Major), and Brison Shira (Classics and Biochemistry Double Major), all of whom are in the Honors College, have each received a Goldwater Scholarship Award from the Barry Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Foundation. The students are among 417 students nationwide to be awarded the Goldwater Scholarship. The scholarship comes with an award of up to $7,500 per year for tuition, books, and room and board.

“These three students have demonstrated an excellent record of scientific achievement as undergraduates, and I look forward to seeing what they will accomplish in the future,” says Suzanne Austin, executive vice president for academic affairs and provost. “I congratulate them on their many accomplishments, and I thank the faculty members who have mentored them.  Pillar 2 of our strategic plan is Academic Distinction, and the achievements of these students are a clear mark of that characteristic at the national level.”

Over the past two years, the College of Charleston Honors College has had a total of six Goldwater Scholars, more than any other university in South Carolina. Since 2012, the College has produced 19 Goldwater Scholars. Faculty mentors for this year’s scholarship recipients include chemistry professors Gamil Guirgis and Jay G. Forsythe and biology professor Jody Beers.

To learn more about this year’s Goldwater Recipients, check out the full article by on The College Today.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress. Designed by Woo Themes

Skip to toolbar