History Awards Ceremony 2013



 Awards 2013
Randolph Alumni Memorial Hall
   Monday, April 15, 2013

Outstanding History Students: 
James M. McManus & Chelsea Elizabeth Legette

Certificate awarded to a graduating senior with the highest grade point average

Outstanding History Student Award with Service: 
Daniel C. Mackin
Certificate awarded to a graduating senior with a GPA of 3.5, with service to the History Department

Departmental Honors:
Seth Reid Clare & Mary Hood Paulson
Awarded to graduating seniors who have shown academic excellence with a GPA of 3.5 and exceptional work in research.

The George & Agnes Heltai Award in History:
James M. McManus
The Heltai award is presented annually to the graduating senior whose academic achievement in their discipline merits the highest distinction.  This award honors Dr. George G. Heltai, Professor in the department of History at the College of Charleston from 1967 to 1986, and Mrs. Heltai, his wife, for their devotion to the students, the faculty, and the intellectual and cultural life of the College. It is a gift from Dr. Malcolm Clark, Professor of History Emeritus.

The Society of First Families of South Carolina Scholarship:
Kristin Victoria Brig
This award is presented to a rising senior in History with special concern for early South Carolina History to the 1790s.

The Albert R. Simonds Special Merit Award:
John Earle Curtis
The Simonds Award is presented to a rising senior in History selected on the basis of academic excellence.

The Douglas & Elizabeth Clark Memorial Scholarship in History:
Andrew Thomas Smith
The Clark Scholarship is awarded to a rising junior or senior based on academic excellence.

The William Moultrie Cup:
Luke Montgomery Allen
The Rebecca Motte Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution presents this cup and certificate in recognition of excellence in advanced study in American History.

Charleston Chapter of The American Federation of Women’s Clubs
 History Prize:
Sarah Anne Scudder
This award is a gift presented to a History major with highest honors in U.S. History.

The Alexander C. Dick Scholarship in Pre-Law:
Austin David Hughey
This endowed scholarship is presented to an outstanding student in History with intent to attend law school.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *