Program News: Congratulations to the Class of 2019!

Seventy-four Arts Management undergraduate majors graduated in the College of Charleston’s December and May commencement exercises. Twenty-five of them were awarded program, Honors College, and other campus-wide awards. Two students completed requirements for the Graduate Certificate in Arts Management and degrees in the Master of Public Administration Program (Melanie Seidel) and the Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing Program (Sarah Mullins).

The undergraduate Arts Management Program’s 2019 senior awards and their recipients included: The School of the Arts Dean’s Excellence Award for excellence in academics and/or the creative/performing arts, and in service activities on campus or in the community (María Carrillo-Marquina); Dr. Norton M. Seltzer Prize in Arts Management for a senior who exhibits the positive characteristics of Norton Seltzer including compassion, humility and willingness to share knowledge with others (Shannon Simone Liberty); and the Julie Jett Arts Management Citizenship Award (Madeleine Fink), a memorial award named in honor of Julie Jett who was a very active Arts Management major and passed away following her graduation in 2003. The award is given to a student who has made significant contributions to the College and the community through the field of arts management. Senior and other awards given to Arts Management majors included: School of the Arts Scholars for students with a GPA of 3.7 or higher (Austin Darby, Abigail Dentler, Madeleine Fink, Abby Foss, Sachiko Higaki, Jane Litton, Amy Smith and Sophia Winter); Outstanding Student Award for excellence in Arts Management (Joshua Bristow, Erin Filler, Phillip Greene, Sachiko Higaki, Caroline Hill, Nicari Legette, Rosie McWilliams, Callista Milligan, Coleman Ott, Sherkeyah Pearson, McKenzie Quinn-Barnett, Virginia Swift, Hailey Wilson); Jean W. Johnson Study Abroad Awards (Malcolm Eli Major-Wright, Ian Wright, Madeleine Fink); The Wattle and Daub Travel Awards (Abby Foss); Scott Shanklin-Peterson Internship Awards (Claire Crawford, Mariah Gehringer, Emily Tran, Carly Valdez, Erin Becwar, Nicole Loftis, Beth Miller); ExCEL/Excellence in Collegiate Education and Leadership Awards – Outstanding Student of the Year for the School of the Arts (María Carrillo-Marquina); and the Global Scholar Award (Luciana Simone) who graduated with minors in Italian Studies and Marketing. Melanie Seidel received the Outstanding Graduate Student Award for the Graduate Certificate in Arts Management.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *